A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Gloucestershire, Gloucester, South West Rate of Pay: £21.35 (Self employed)

Hours per Week: 15.5 hours per week (to be shared with existing PA)

Job Reference: 161RS Expires: 3rd January 2019

About the Employer

I am a deafblind man in my early 30s. I live independently in a flat in Gloucester. I came to England from Togo about 14 years ago. As I am profoundly deaf, I have been unable to learn to speak English and I only understand a few words of English. My first language is Mina, an African language. My second language is French, my third language is British Sign Language. I love living in my flat, I need a PA who can give me the support to enable me to carry on living independently. My religion is also very important to me. I am Catholic and attend St Peter's church every Sunday. I have made many friends at the church and need my PA to support me at the Sunday Mass and when we go out for meals or attend events at the Social club. My present PA has supported me for 14 years but is nearing retirement age; she would like to reduce her hours.


Summary of Duties

Duties ( to be shared with existing PA)

·Accompanying me to church and for coffee in the social club afterwards

·Assisting me to shop for food and other items such as clothes

·Helping me with correspondence and managing my finances

·Checking my gas meter and topping up when necessary

·Accessing Facebook on my laptop and helping me with emails

·Supporting me at my carpentry course at Gloucestershire College on Thursdays 1.30pm to 3.30pm

Accompanying me to occasional events, e.g going out for a meal with friends, going to the theatre, ten pin bowling with Outlook, visiting my family in Gloucester.


The Person They Are Looking For

Person Specification

Knowledge of BSL (minimum level 2, level 3 preferred)

Experience of working with deafblind people would be desirable but not essential as training can be given.  I do not need to be guided when out and about, I will follow you. Although I have some useful vision, you need to point out potential hazards to me such as steps, kerbs, obstructions etc. as I am registered blind. I have tunnel vision in my right eye only, so I may not always see hazards if they are out of my field of vision. I have no hearing and cannot hear traffic.

Knowledge of French would be useful but not essential.


The Times Required

Thursday, Sunday, other days open to negotiation

My regular commitments are:

Sunday 9.30am until about 1.30/2.00pm, church, coffee afterwards and shopping at Sainsbury's.

Thursday 1.30pm to 3.30pm  Carpentry course at Gloucestershire College.

My current PA  covers these commitments at present but would gradually like to hand them over.

The other hours could be flexible to suit both parties. However, not Tuesday 3.00pm until 6.00pm as I go boxing. Also not Wednesday evening as I go to the church social club.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: