A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Female Personal Assistant

Location: Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £8.20 per hour

Hours per Week: 4

Job Reference: SUN1434938MB1 Expires: 25th June 2018

Female Personal Assistant (SEX DISCRIMINATION ACT SECTION 7 (2) (B) (ii) APPLIES)

About the Employer

I am the employer and mother of my 13 year old daughter and reside with my husband in the City.

She has a diagnosis of learning difficulties, developmental delay and ADHD. She is on the autistic spectrum and has restricted mobility, however manages without a wheelchair in most instances.

My daughter attends school Monday – Friday and spends most of her social time at home or out with our family.

My daughter functions at a younger age and will require one to one supervision and support at all times. She is very articulate, chatty and has a good sense of humour. She enjoys football but loves anything girly.

My daughter is a typical girl of her age and enjoys one to one attention. She is just as happy to go somewhere for a drink and a chat as doing an activity.

She enjoys bowling, the cinema, window shopping and going to the supermarket. As she tires easily due to her restricted mobility, she may require regular rest stops or breaks when out and about


Summary of Duties

The successful personal assistant will be required to support my daughter in accessing new activities and experiences in the local community.

They should be outgoing, and enthusiastic with good communication skills, which will support in developing her social skills and help build her confidence.

There may a be requirement to support with personal care at times if on an outing, however this is not required at all times and she will request support as and when it arises.

The role is to befriend and offer companionship with a view to extending her support network.

The personal assistant will be expected to use their own car to take my daughter to social activities.


The Person They Are Looking For

I am seeking a personal assistant who is enthusiastic, motivated and have some knowledge or experience of supporting individuals with life skills and promoting independence.

I require someone with patience and an understanding of Autism and have a calm and caring nature.

They should demonstrate as confident and outgoing and able to hold and initiate conversation, which is very important to ensuring a trusting relationship can be built.

They should be enthusiastic and have an ability to promote and assist individuals in developing hobbies and interests outside of the home, including peer relationships in a social environment. 

‘Car owner and full valid driving license essential (business insurance required).

‘Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered)’


The Times Required

4 hours per week. To be delivered flexibly

After school hours during the week, or at weekends

The days and times can be more flexible during holidays and the activities, times and days will be discussed and agreed each week between the employee, my daughter and myself


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: