A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Washington, North East Rate of Pay: £8.50 per hour

Hours per Week: 3

Job Reference: SUN1441322SS2 Expires: 6th August 2018

About the Employer

I am looking for a personal assistant to provide support both within the home and out in the community, to my 14 year old son who has autism. He is a really happy boy and can be very polite, he does have to capability to communicate and express his needs, but he is rather shy and communication can be quite broken, also very repetitive especially about things he likes. Some of his likes for example are: aeroplanes, war, listening to music, watching DVD’s, James Bond and Cars.

The PA may be faced with some challenging situations, particularly if he is having a bad day, but this is unlikely but worth mentioning as the PA would need to have experience of handling situations in a confident and calm manner. 

My son has a Pollen Allergy (Hay Fever) and a Peanut Allergy.


Summary of Duties

I am looking for personal assistant who can support my son both in our home and out in the community.

If he does not wish to leave the house, it would be a case of supporting him within our home, examples of activities this may include are:

•           building jigsaws

•           preparing food

•           watching TV or DVD’s

•           encouraging new activities to help increase interests, providing new ideas or suggestions of what he could do

To encourage and increase time spent out of the house if possible, places of interest are listed below:

•           going to the cinema

•           going bowling

•           visiting the beach

•           visiting parks (Does need lots of reassurance and encouragement)

•           going to the airport

•           going out for food

Other essential elements of the role include:

•           Prompting and maybe occasionally having to support with personal care elements such as toileting.


The Person They Are Looking For

I am looking for someone who is reliable, caring, patient, understanding and fun who can support my son within the home and also try to encourage him to go out into the community to help promote his social skills.

Someone who has experience of working within a similar role or supporting individuals with autism is strongly desirable.

First Aid and any autism specific training are preferable but not essential.

Please note this is a pet friendly environment (Rabbit).

Car owner and full valid driving license is desirable but not essential (business insurance required).

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).


The Times Required

Weekends during term time (39 weeks of the year).

School Holidays (13 weeks of the year) days and times to be negotiated with employer (weekdays/weekends).

Preferably working 6 hours on weekends every 2 weeks during term time on weekends and flexibility for the school holidays, this can be negotiated with the employer.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: