A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Female Personal Assistant

Location: Doxford Park, Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £8.40 per hour

Hours per Week: 17

Job Reference: SUN1431316MB2 Expires: 2nd July 2018

Female Personal Assistant (SEX DISCRIMINATION ACT SECTION 7 (2) (B) (ii) APPLIES)

About the Employer

My granddaughter is a 26 year old woman with a diagnosed Learning Disability and Cerebral Palsy. She lives with her grandmother and me in the Doxford Park area of Sunderland.

I am the Employer, grandfather and main carer for my granddaughter. I am seeking a Personal Assistant to support my granddaughter  to have quality time away from the family home, providing her with opportunities and encouragement to access new interests and hobbies

My granddaughter enjoys engaging in meaningful activities within the community. She would like to be able to do this again with the support of a new PA, enabling her to go shopping to the Metro Centre and Newcastle, going to the pub, swimming and using a Hydro-Pool.

She is also keen to work on a voluntary basis.


Summary of Duties

One to one support:

To support the my granddaughter  to take trips to her local leisure centre, attend social groups such as Leechmere Disco

To support and assist her in going to the shops

To befriend and become a companion if we her grandparents are required to attend appointments/visits

Accompany her  to health appointments, dentist, opticians, hairdressers

To provide personal care.

Due to my granddaughter’s physical disability and associated mobility issues, she is unable to maintain her personal hygiene without the full support of another.  The PA would be required to support with showering/drying and dressing 3 times per week in her ground floor adapted wet room.


The Person They Are Looking For

The PA we are seeking should be a committed and reliable person and able to provide one to one support and companionship.

I am looking for a Personal Assistant to befriend my granddaughter and assist in building her confidence and self-esteem and to engage and promote her independence in social settings.

We are looking for someone with experience in supporting persons with disabilities and understanding of the challenges this may bring.

The person we seek would be a female, due to the personal care aspect of the role. We desire someone with patience and a calming nature to enable a positive and trusting relationship to be built.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered)

Car owner and full valid driving license essential (business insurance required)

Full valid driving license is essential as the role requires you to drive the employer’s vehicle.


The Times Required

3 x 1 hour  (Monday/Wednesday and Friday) Personal care bathing/showering

7 hours. Times and days required are flexible and can be discussed or negotiated with the employer during interview or following the successful candidate being appointed.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: