A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Shipston-on-Stour, Midlands Rate of Pay: £12.00 per hour gross

Hours per Week: 4.5 hours per week (18 hours within a 4 week period)

Job Reference: CLKTMU Expires: 30th July 2018

About the Employer

My Mother will be your employer so you will be guided and supervised by her.

I am a boy of 13 and live with my mum, Dad, and older brother in Shipston-on-Stour and attend a special school in Stratford-Upon-Avon.  I enjoy spending time with my brother.

I have autism with some learning disability and have difficulties with communication and I struggle with self- expression.

You will need to use simple language with me and not to many words so this gives me time to process the information.  Please avoid noisy and crowded places and reassure me if there is a lot of noise and try and keep me in a calm environment.

I do not have any sense of danger or road sense so you will need to keep me safe at all times. I like to press buttons and switches in public areas and need you to distract me from doing this.

I love using my IPad and enjoy trips out such as the cinema and train stations. I also really enjoy traveling by bus am generally interested in different types of transport.

Summary of Duties

Day Duties  

Keep me safe at all times.

Accompany me on walks holding my hand.

Accompany me to the toilet ensuring I wash my hands (I do not like the noise of hand dryers.)

Support me with outside activities as arranged with my mum.

Support me at home with indoor activities ensure doors and windows are locked and put keys out of reach.

I have a special diet which is dairy free and Gluten free, my mum will advise on diet.

Make drinks and meals as required.

In an emergency contact my mother or father.


Evening duties

Keep me company.

Watch TV with me (I enjoy watching You’ve been framed).

Casualty/Holby City and BBC news.

Prompt me to put my PJ’s on.

Prompt me to use the toilet and wash my hands.

Support me to clean my teeth.

Read a bedtime story.

Ensure I am comfortable in bed.

The Person They Are Looking For

Be patient, supportive, caring and positive with a good sense of humour.

Be honest, reliable trustworthy and gentle in your approach when supporting me with my morning routines.

Knowledge and experience of working with children with autism and learning disabilities desirable.

Clear communication skills.

Able to remain calm in stressful situations.

Flexibility and good availability.

The ability to think on your feet.


This job description is not exhaustive and should be taken only as a general outline of the duties of the postholder.  It may be reviewed and varied periodically with due notice.

The Times Required

Times required: mid-morning or early afternoons.

Days required: Sundays and occasional evenings.

Days and times will vary during school holidays.

Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: