A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Gloucestershire, Cheltenham, Hatherley Area, South West Rate of Pay: £8.60 per hour (weekdays) & £9.10 per hour (weekend rate)

Hours per Week: Variable

Job Reference: 12MW Expires: 30th November 2017

About the Employer

I am young woman with a sight impairment who uses a wheelchair. I live in the Hatherley area of Cheltenham with my pets.

I require assistance with both personal and domestic care. I am a very independent person and live a busy and active life.


Summary of Duties

Assisting me with my washing and showering; to include all aspects of personal hygiene; including looking after my skin, my hair and my teeth. 

Assist me with management of bladder and bowel continence; including catheter.

Assist me with dressing and undressing.

Assist me with mobility; including assistance with transfers (using hoist) between bed, shower chair and wheelchair.

Ensuring I have the necessary equipment I need to hand e.g. my grabber.

Assisting me to charge up my wheelchair battery.

Assist me with getting up .

Help me with the administration of medication; including my nebuliser.

Assisting me with my paperwork

Assistance to prepare meals and drinks, including preparing drinks for after your call. (Care required as I have a nut allergy)

Support me outside the home with trips, shopping and visits. This may include unpacking my shopping on return back to the house.

Assistance to feed my animals.

Light domestic duties as requested to include

Laundry.

Keeping my sitting room, and bedroom clean and tidy, including vacuuming.

Keeping my kitchen and bathrooms clean and tidy.

Ensure emergency services are called in the event of an emergency.

Ensure that I have a safe environment to live in and for you to work in.

Assistance with dog by taking him out on his lead for toileting mornings and evenings.

 


The Person They Are Looking For

You must like cats and dogs.

You must be honest, motivated, conscientious and reliable.

Previous experience of care work preferred but not essential.

You must be flexible and able to cover shifts when other personal assistants are off.

You must have a good sense of humour.

Willingness to undertake further training as required for the post.

Ability to use own initiative but will also take instruction from me if required.

You must respect my privacy and confidentiality at all times and that of my family. Respect my home, possessions and equipment and gain permission to use my telephone, television etc.

Must be non smoker.

You must complete 4 weekly timesheets, arrive at work at the agreed time and give notification if you are late.

Full training for the duties of the job will be provided, including the correct way to use the hoist and assist me with my catheter.


The Times Required

Day shifts and evening shifts. Hours to be worked three times a day on a 4 week rota system. Must be flexible.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: