A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Health Care Assistant(s)

Location: Dunholme , East Rate of Pay: Starting salary of £9p/h untrained. Once fully trained £13/£14p/h

Hours per Week: Negotiable. Min 4hrs up to 30hrs per week. Contracted hours available or 0hr Contract to cover bank shifts.

Job Reference: LS2276 Expires: 23rd October 2018

About the Employer

I am a 12yr old girl seeking a Personal Health Care Assistant to join my existing team of assistants at home. I have Cerebral Palsy, Dystonia, Epilepsy and Lung condition requiring ventilation via my tracheostomy. I need 24/7 support with all my care needs ensuring I have medication & therapies when due, as well as full support with all my positioning and transferring. I live at home with my Mum, Dad, Twin sister, younger sister & a small pet dog. I have a lot going on physically and medically but I never let it define me and enjoy living life. I’m very sociable and known as a bit of a thrill seeker, always looking for the next adventure! I’m a big Disney Fan and love spending time with my family & friends.


Summary of Duties

A day in my life means my Personal Health Care assistants are responsible for supporting me with all moving and handling and personal care including bathing. They will need to administer my medications via my Jejunostomy (a feeding tube into my Intestine) as well as other medications like nebulisers that I breathe in through my tracheostomy. I need regular suction to keep my airway clear & need someone with me at all times to make sure I am safe. In the event I have a seizure my PHCA will need to administer rescue medications. Other duties include stock check of supplies & medications which you may need to order for me. My PHCA will need to support me with all social activities including using my eye gaze computer, either at home, out in the community or on holiday. I also need support throughout the night whilst I’m sleeping.


The Person They Are Looking For

Due to my medical conditions I request a non-smoker & for applicants to be a minimum of 25yrs of age for my van insurance, so that my Personal Health Care Assistant can drive me to any social activities in my wheelchair accessible vehicle. Experience of working with a child/young person with complex care is an advantage but not essential as all training will be provided. I’m seeking a caring, compassionate, patient and friendly person who likes to laugh and interact. The successful candidate will be self-motivated, have a positive attitude, and a genuine passion for providing high quality care to support me living as independently as possible at home with my family. You will need to be confident and capable of working on your own but also as part of my already established team of Personal Health Care Assistants.


The Times Required

Day & Night shifts available 7 days per week.

Evening shift 23:00 – 09:00

Day shifts variable. 4 x hour shifts/full long days.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: