A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £9.00 per hour

Hours per Week: 12

Job Reference: SUN1429936MB1 Expires: 17th October 2018

About the Employer

I am a 53 years of age lady with a moderate learning disability which impacts on my confidence.

I am seeking to employ a Personal Assistant to offer me companionship and support me in accessing the community both socially and with general day to day tasks such as shopping.

I reside with my husband, in the Sunderland area and both he and I work part time. My husband also has a learning disability and at times our relationship can become strained, so time out with our PA, allows space and ability to access our individual interests. On our days off, we both access separately the support of our own Personal Assistant, to enable us to pursue new experiences including social activities of our choice.

In addition I have a family member who is our dedicated guardian that will support me in my role as an employer, providing guidance and advice to the successful PA about the support I require, during induction and throughout the probationary period.

I am very independent and do not require assistance with personal care or domestic duties, however I may require some prompts from time to time.

I will require some support when attending medical appointments to help me communicate with health professionals.

 My sessions will be predominantly around social engagement and general day to day interests and tasks in the community.

The sessions will be predominantly led by me, the PA will be required to assist and help me plan my sessions week by week.


Summary of Duties

Duties will include:

I enjoy a range of activities and require someone who is active and willing to accompany me on activities such as

·         ten Pin Bowling

·         swimming

·         going to the cinema

·         shopping

·         going out for meals and coffee shops

·         weekends away

·         preparing and cooking meals and trying out new recipes with prompt and support of my PA

·         attending health or medical appointments when required


The Person They Are Looking For

I am looking for a personal assistant who is friendly, outgoing and has a really positive outlook on life.

The PA I am seeking should have experience in the care sector and a pleasant nature. The PA should show initiative, enthusiasm and have a good sense of humour and ability to engage on a one to one basis.

 I am looking for someone who is reliable and committed to providing consistency and care.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).

Expenses associated to agreed activities will be met by the service user and employer.


The Times Required

Tuesday 3 hrs

Thursday 4 hrs

Saturday or Sunday 5 hrs

Weekend session may be negotiated and agreed week by week

Times to be discussed and agreed at interview


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: