A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Bedworth, Midlands Rate of Pay: £9.50 plus business mileage

Hours per Week: 33 hours per week shared between 2 PAs

Job Reference: CSRH Expires: 7th September 2018

About the Employer

I am a 34 year old gentleman with learning disabilities and some physical disabilities and I need some support with a variety of tasks to assist me to live an independent and fulfilling life.  I currently live with family in a family environment

I am looking to recruit two PA’s to cover the week between you. You will also need to cover each other’s Annual Leave and/or sickness

Hours and number of hours are negotiable/variable with some flexibility required There are 33 hours per week available to be shared between 2 PA’s.


Summary of Duties

  • Assisting with personal care needs in a dignified way
  • Accessing health care appointments as required
  • To support me in participating in family life
  • To support me within my capabilities to engage in domestic duties at home
  • To assist me to travel to my place of work twice a week in your own vehicle
  • To assist me to engage in social activities and any therapeutic activity of my choice – this  might be at weekends/evenings and may be on public transport
  • To help me to maintain my mental health and wellbeing paying regard to my personal development
  • This is not an exhaustive list, other similar/reasonable tasks I may need as agreed by myself and my family
  • Car owner/driver needed, business petrol expenses will be paid
  • You have a responsibility as an Employee to report all accidents to the employer immediately. 
  • You have a duty to report defects and / or hazards which may give rise to an accident.

 


The Person They Are Looking For

  • To be energetic as I like a variety of activity and my mobility is better on some days rather than others and you will need to keep up with/assist me as needed
  • To be consistent with boundaries whilst still being friendly
  • To be patient with me and go at my pace
  • To have a desire to improve my life
  • To appropriately manage challenging behaviour
  • A willingness to engage in the activities alongside me – (such as being in the swimming pool with me but you do not need to be able to swim, I attend a non-swimming exercise class)
  • To have your own vehicle to take me to work/activities with class 1 business insurance
  • An understanding of learning disabilities highly desirable
  • To have an easy going personality.
  • Be honest, reliable and trustworthy
  • Able to work flexibly and follow instructions
  • To be willing to change your hours on occasion to meet my social needs.
  • Good sense of humour
  • You will also need to respect my privacy and have an understanding of confidentiality in all areas of your work
  • Must like dogs as we have a family pet
  • Ability to use basic BSL or Makaton an advantage
  • Car owner/driver
  • Enhanced DBS required

The Times Required

33 hours per week (shared)

07.00 – 22.30

Monday-Sunday – week to be shared/split between several PA’s


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: