A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Roker, Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £8.40 per hour

Hours per Week: 10

Job Reference: SUN1434856MB2 Expires: 30th July 2018

About the Employer

I am the mother of a 20 year old son who is a young man on the autistic spectrum and has learning difficulties. He struggles with the social aspects of life and requires support and encouragement to communicate and build relationships with his peers and others.

My son is a friendly young man who enjoys a range of activities, so would benefit from someone who is enthusiastic and energetic.

I am looking for a personal assistant to provide one to one support and take my son out into the community, encourage him to access new activities and experiences.

We reside in the Roker area of Sunderland and I would like for the PA to facilitate in enabling my son to enjoy outings which may be across the city or further afield at times to enhance the opportunities available to him.


Summary of Duties

One to one support:

To help develop my son’s social independence and confidence

To collect my son from college and facilitate sessions out in the community

To be guided by my son in accessing his own interests and hobbies and engage in activities such as bike riding, going to the local pub

To be a companion and friend,   encourage and promote independence and self-esteem  to assist him in improving  life skills for the longer term

To be a positive role model and actively seek opportunities to encourage my son in accessing and taking part in new experiences.


The Person They Are Looking For

The PA we are seeking should be a committed and reliable person and able to provide one to one support and companionship.

I am looking for a Personal Assistant to befriend and support my son in building his confidence and self-esteem and to engage and promote his inclusion in social settings.

The PA should be energetic, enthusiastic, patient, with a positive outlook on life.

I’m searching for candidate applying to have the following qualities:

•           The PA should proactive in aiding him to access new experiences and activities and assist in general  day to day activities which are associated to his age

•           The PA should have patience and understanding and look to utilise the sessions in promoting my son’s independence, self-esteem and social engagement.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).

A PA who has access to a car and able to drive is desirable but not essential


The Times Required

Both the times and days required are flexible and can be discussed or negotiated with the employer during interview or following the successful candidate being appointed

Occasional college pick-ups. Some flexibility would be beneficial

Additional hours which can be offered as and when required.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: