A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Washington, North East Rate of Pay: £8.35 per hour

Hours per Week: 11

Job Reference: SUN1429963MB4 Expires: 14th November 2018

About the Employer

I am both a family member and employer for a team of Personal Assistants who provide care and support to my brother-in-law, who lives with me and my husband in our family home.

I am looking to recruit a further two Personal Assistants to provide the 2-1 support required to meet my brother-in-law’s needs, assessed by Sunderland Council.

My brother-in-law is paralysed down his left side resulting in limited mobility; he requires a wheelchair and a hoist for all transfers.  He suffers from asthma and epilepsy however he has not had a seizure in over 10 years. He is doubly incontinent and has speech difficulties. He has a learning disability and significant mobility issues which result in him requiring ongoing support with his daily living. He has a cheerful and witty sense of humor and enjoys social interaction.

I am my brother-in-law’s main carer and employ the PA team to support him whilst he is at home with personal care and with all transfers, via a hoist.

My brother-in-law attends a day centre 5 days per week, which he appears to enjoy greatly.


Summary of Duties

I am looking for a personal assistant to provide 2-1 support with the following duties:

assist with night time routine and support going to bed

to use a hoist - to transfer my brother-in-law

assistance with all aspects of personal care which includes, showering, shaving and dressing

preparing drinks and snacks

support with feeding at mealtimes (meals already prepared)

to assist with light house work duties e.g. washing, Ironing, bed making, bed changing once a week or when required


The Person They Are Looking For

 I am looking for a personal assistant who has experience in the care sector, but this is not essential as on the job training will be provided.
 I am looking for people who are reliable and committed to providing consistency and care.

My brother-in-law resides in the Washington area so due to restricted public transport, a driver and car owner would be preferable but not a necessity.

Training in using a hoist to manage manual handling and lifting will be provided by the Occupational Therapist prior to employment.

We have a family pet dog and require any candidate considering the post to be pet friendly.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).


The Times Required

Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday Wednesday

 07:15am -8:15am

Saturday and Sunday

12pm-12:30pm

Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday Wednesday

6:45pm – 7:45pm

 

Suitable days can be discussed at interview to work around other employees Rota’s.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: