A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Crofton, Wakefield, Yorkshire Rate of Pay: £8-9 per hour

Hours per Week: 11

Job Reference: WAK1440259AW4 Expires: 8th October 2018

About the Employer

I am looking to recruit a Personal Assistant for my sister-in-law who is a middle-aged lady diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment. She suffers with some anxiety and memory issues, including remembering day-to-day tasks.

She is very friendly and caring, and likes to stay active. She enjoys the outdoors, attending social events, going on outings and also being creative.

Summary of Duties

The main purpose of the role is to encourage and enable my sister-in-law to live as independently as possible.

The successful applicant will provide a high level of guidance along with advice and assistance in managing certain aspects of her life.

There will be a strong emphasis on the Personal Assistant’s relationship with my sister-in-law, and she is hoping to gain a good level of companionship from the right person.

Duties may also include:

·         Cooking and preparation of meals

·         Carrying out household tasks, including cleaning and laundry, as required

·         Assistance with ensuring medication is taken

·         Management of her daily routine – this could include encouraging her to carry out tasks she normally would do as well as introducing new experiences and skills to increase her confidence.

·         Accompanying her to appointments, groups, outings to the gym and other social activities and events.

She does currently have another Personal Assistant who works for her Monday to Friday and you would be expected to work as a team in order to achieve the best outcomes for her. This will include an efficient and effective handover between staff.

Other duties may be required but these will always be discussed initially.

The Person They Are Looking For

I am looking for an applicant who will:

Have experience of being a Personal Assistant and/or have been involved with someone with anxiety and memory issues before (preferable)

Be a reasonably skilled cook and have an appreciation for the importance of nutrition. This will include confidence in shopping and meal planning

Have good planning and organisation skills and be competent in managing a diary

Enjoy the outdoors and be willing to try new things

Understand the need to communicate well with me on relevant matters on a regular basis

Be patient and a good listener and interpreter as my sister-in-law is often unsure of her needs

Be friendly and fun and willing to build an excellent relationship

Be committed and passionate in all they do for her, and demonstrate this in the role

On the job training will be provided

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered)

Car owner and full valid driving license essential (business insurance required).

 Rate of pay dependant on experience. Additional expenses to be agreed.

The Times Required

Saturday and Sunday 12pm – 5.30pm 

Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: