A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £8.20 Per Hour (expenses negotiable)

Hours per Week: 6

Job Reference: SUN1438736SS2 Expires: 19th February 2018

About the Employer

I am looking to recruit a personal assistant for my 23 year old daughter who has a learning disability. My daughter lacks self-motivation but is highly able to do lots of lovely things. She feels uncomfortable in new situations, dislikes large crowds and tends to avoid speaking directly to people she doesn’t know, which makes her avoid or be reluctant to try new things; however once over the initial change she thoroughly enjoys herself. The personal assistant needs to be someone who is encouraging and supportive to help develop independence and increase involvement in activities. Interests and hobbies include, playing keyboard, badminton, aqua fit, going to the gym, walking, cinema, bowling, eating out, craft activities and the occasional shopping trips.


Summary of Duties

The role is to become a ‘buddy’ for my daughter, to inspire and encourage her to get the best out of her life and fulfill her potential by increasing independence and reducing her reliance on her family.

Support my daughter to partake and engage in social activities such as: Badminton, aqua fit, bowling, trips to the cinema, eating out at cafes etc.

To support in the further development of her confidence and build on her life skills.


The Person They Are Looking For

The individual must be kind, caring and patient but also enthusiastic and outgoing and be able to utilise effective persuasive and encouragement techniques to help encourage my daughter to go out and enjoy herself

Someone who has similar interests and hobbies as my daughter would be beneficial to build up a positive working relationship and ensure that she is able to get the most out of the support

Experience in a supporting role is preferable but not essential, this maybe through employment or just life experience. Some understanding of working with vulnerable adults again would be preferable

A reliable, happy, enthusiastic person who has the ability to be adaptable and persuasive is essential for this role

We have family pets which include a cat and hamster

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered)

Car owner and full valid driving license would be preferred (business insurance required). You may be asked to use your own car to transport my daughter but public transport could also be an option.


The Times Required

Flexibility preferable. Could for example be a full day or 2 three hours per week; Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday or Fridays would be the best days but this can be negotiated with the employer.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: