A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Fulwell, Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £8.00 per hour

Hours per Week: 10 hours per week (with possibility of increase)

Job Reference: SUN1433813SS2 Expires: 29th January 2018

About the Employer

I am a 68 year old tetraplegic gentleman with complex needs who is looking for an additional personal assistant to join my current team. I use a power assisted wheelchair when up and active and am hoisted in and out of bed. I require assistance with all aspects of daily living and personal care, as well partaking in activities. Due to poor health this year, routine is variable and sometimes I have to spend more time in bed. I do like to be up and about, I like watching TV and listening to music and in the summer I like to be in the garden. I am a very chatty gentleman and when feeling up to it I very much like to socialise.

Summary of Duties

The personal assistant role will involve:

• Personal care --- shower / bed bath assistance with shaving cleaning teeth,

• Regular skin care / topical creams,

• Dressing,

• Hoisting into chair,

• Cooking / feeding assisting with drinks,

• Helping give medications/ nebulisers / cough machine (training given),

• Manual handling when in bed training given,

• Helping stocking and storing of medical equipment and cleaning,

• Keeping rooms etc clean and hazard free,

• Companionship and stimulation.

The Person They Are Looking For

The person I am looking for will be a reliable, caring individual who has experience in a supporting role. It is desirable for the applicant to have some training (Hoist Training, Manual Handling, First Aid) but this is not essential and people without will still be considered. Also someone who has experience in Spinal Injuries is also preferable. Someone who is enthusiastic and supportive and who can adaptable in situations.


Car owner and full valid driving license would be desirable but not essential (business insurance would be required) as the role may involve you using your own vehicle. You may also be required you to drive the employers vehicle’


I have a family pet dog you will need to be happy working within this environment.


Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered)


The Times Required

Flexibility in terms of days, evenings plus weekends can be negotiated with the employer.

Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: