A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Gloucestershire, Gloucester, Brockworth, South West Rate of Pay: £8.90 per hour

Hours per Week: 23 hours +

Job Reference: 123RS X Expires: 22nd February 2018

Female Personal Assistant (SEX DISCRIMINATION ACT SECTION 7 (2) (B) (ii) APPLIES)

About the Employer

I am an active & arty lady (when supported) with a disability, living in Brockworth with my partner and dog. I require assistance with personal and domestic care, but mainly I require support to get out and about. I enjoy art, I also teach and exhibit wherever possible. I am actively involved with a number of organisations and often need help with the paperwork side because of my eyesight, so to be reasonably tech savvy would be a great bonus.


Summary of Duties

On Mondays and Thursdays, usually an early start for swimming then on to either my Studio or workshop venue. I would need to be transported there. A Wednesday would usually involve teaching or admin, i.e. communications, website/Facebook  updates On occasions when I feel too unwell to go out to activities I will need support in the home and help with domestic activities.  

Please note the main part of this job is to get me ready to go out to my art classes/regular appointments and to drive me there. The duties will vary from day to day and you will not be asked to do all the following in one shift.

Assisting me with personal care including assistance with washing, and getting dressed/undressed where necessary. Including ensuring I am safe in the bath.

Assisting me with toileting and my continence needs.

Assisting me with washing, drying and styling my hair.

Assisting me to have the necessary medication/equipment to hand.

Ensuring that I have necessary drinks and meals I need, including meal preparation.

Ensuring I am safe when moving around generally.

Assisting me with my correspondence and helping with other computerised needs.

Assist me with the equipment that I need e.g. my walking frame, my crutches, my electric and manual wheelchair

I need assistance in getting in/out of the car.

Assisting me with a manual wheelchair, including getting it in/out of a car and pushing me.

On occasions you may be asked to drive my adapted car, to enable me to go out with my electric wheelchair.

Light domestic duties as requested to include laundry, washing up, keeping my house tidy and essential shopping.

Ensure a safe and hygienic working environment.

Assisting me with my art work.

Assisting me to access the community, social activities (inc. swimming) and to medical appointments, including driving me to regular appointments.

Any other assistance of a similar nature to the duties described above.

 


The Person They Are Looking For

You must be female. *

You must be flexible; I am willing to be flexible in return.

You must respect my independence and only assist me when and where it is required.

Previous experience of care-work is preferred esp using a wheelchair, but not essential.

Willingness to undertake further training as required.

You must be honest and reliable.

You must be friendly approachable and professional.

You must be willing to be open in communication.

You must like cats/dogs.

Swimmer desirable, but not essential.

You must respect my dignity, privacy and confidentiality at all times and that of my family.

You must respect my home, possessions and equipment and gain permission to use my telephone.

Car driver essential, you must be prepared to drive your own car at work and have business insurance. There will be an agreed mileage rate paid.

If a smoker you will not be permitted to smoke on the premises.

You must complete 4 weekly timesheets, arrive at work at the agreed time and give notification if you are late.

If offered the position you may be asked to undergo a DBScheck and references may be taken.

 


The Times Required

Monday to Friday.  2 x 7 hour shifts Mon & Thurs 7:30-2:30 Remaining hours split between Weds & Fri


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: